top of page

Doris Konig, Artistic Director
Pianist for Omega From 1973-2013
Artistic Director of Omega Since 1978

Doris Konig, pianist, won first prize in the statewide Spencer Penrose Competition in Colorado after graduating from high school.  She received a Bachelor of Music degree and a Master of Music degree with honors from Indiana University.  There, during her junior year, she was one of only two students who were awarded a Performer's Certificate.  She was coached in chamber music by the cellist Janos Starker, who encouraged her to form her own chamber music group. In the following years, she studied in Berlin on a Fulbright scholarship, in London on a grant from the Elmgrant Trust, and on scholarship as a special student at the Manhattan School of Music.

Ms. Konig made her debut in a piano-cello duo with Timothy Eddy at The New York Cultural Center, and The New York Times described it as, "Chamber Music at its Best."  She later accompanied Mr. Eddy, currently a member of the Orion String Quartet, in his cello debut recital at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  She performed with Eugene Drucker, violinist of the Emerson String Quartet, on his debut recital at Carnegie's Weill Hall, and with violinist Elmar Oliviera, winner of the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.  She has performed in Germany and throughout the U.S.

She has served as Omega's pianist from 1973 to 2013. After one of Omega's Merkin Hall concerts, The New York Times wrote, "Ms. Konig played the piano with a sculptured efficacy, drama and a precious manipulation of dynamics and coloration. In Chopin's Polonaise, Ms. Konig's accompaniment sparkled on its own." Ms. Konig continues as the Artistic Director of the Omega Ensemble and has performed with over 170 of Omega's artists.

Board of Directors


M. Sava B. Thomas

Vice Presidents

Oksana Prysyazhnyuk

Mary Ann Routledge



Molly Pickering Grose



Andrew Brooks

Ursula B. Day
Thomas M. Dean

Marilyn Dikkers
Kareem El-Heneidi

David S. Haber
W. David McCoy

Rudolf Morgan

Mary Ann O'Leary
Marc Sklar

Kenneth Teitel

Honorary Board Members

Omega is blessed to receive guidance from some of the most esteemed musicians in the world.

Eugene Drucker

David Dubal

Emerson Quartet

David Finckel

David Kim

Mark Kosower

Jaime Laredo

Elmar Oliveira

Roberta Peters

Nathaniel Rosen

Joseph B. Rosenblatt (1922-2013)

Sheila B. Rosenblatt (1932-2014)

Robert Sherman

Richard Stoltzman

bottom of page